Season’s Greetings

Standard

Season’s Greetings

Thanks for the cards and greetings and I offer my greetings to you and your loved ones.

I had always left Xmas, New Year and Birthday greetings and gifts to Meyrick and have not been in the habit of an annual report type of message, but this year, as I receive some of those missives from friends, it seems to me to solve a few problems as a way to communicate with you all.

Peter is still with me and we are still speaking to one another and we are still enjoying one another’s company and every evening is a dinner-party.

It has been quite a year, with COVID restrictions anchoring me to home and various events whirling around me. At my age, despite three vaccinations, COVID remains a threat. The grief of my loss of Meyrick is always there but the pain eases as time goes by. I feel it fully in waves from time to time, but life goes on. I stay cheerful, largely with help from family and friends and I study, I read and I think.

I remain in good/reasonable health, but gradually get weaker in the legs so cannot do my usual walks

Everyone I know is fully engaged with their lives – jobs, studies, relationships, children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, charitable activities etc., or in some cases, are old and feeble and out of touch. For entertainment I have TV, YouTube and Netflix

What else does a 91-year-old do with his time? I study, I think and I wonder! What about?

I am still very curious and just enjoy learning and thinking about things as I have done so for many years, and now at 91, having been a widower for over a year, I get my main satisfaction from thinking. I think about many things and try to bridge the divides between academic disciplines so as to achieve a broader understanding.

I enjoy thinking about –

And, in the end – whatever has happened cannot unhappen.

Paul Gilchrist 

Xmas 2021 and New Year 2022.

Leave a comment